🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro Limit Changes: What’s Included Now? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match the higher allowance; existing subscribers who already had it keep it. Chat limits, Plus usage and prices are not broadly doubled.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan on October 29, one day before it was due to take effect, and increased Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The changes matter to subscribers deciding which tier to buy: not every limit doubled, and the company says prices are unchanged.
OpenAI’s October 29 release note says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, so using one leaves less of that shared pool for the other. The change applies to those work and coding tools, not to every ChatGPT feature or limit.
For Pro 200, OpenAI says it canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. Its updated help page says subscribers who had the lower allowance now receive twice as much, matching the higher allowance; people who already had the higher allowance keep it. The lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit also now matches the higher one. This is a restoration and equalization, not a doubling for every Pro 200 subscriber.
OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal, and new subscriptions include it. Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits remain unchanged. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. Plus usage and all plan prices are unchanged, according to OpenAI.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the Changes Affect Each Tier
The practical change is more room for users who rely on longer Work tasks or Codex coding sessions. But the added allowance should not be read as a promise of twice as many completed jobs. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode, so a more demanding request can consume more of the shared allowance.
For subscribers, the distinction between Work and Codex allowance and ChatGPT’s separate message limits matters when comparing plans. Pro 100 and Pro 500 receive the stated Work and Codex increase, but their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits do not change. Pro 200’s adjustment depends on which allowance a customer previously had. Readers considering an upgrade should check their account’s usage information rather than assume every cap has doubled.
The announcement also affects business buyers, though the public detail is less exact. OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not give a multiplier. A company needs that missing detail to estimate how much extra work each seat can support. It should also keep ChatGPT seat costs and API budgets separate: this update describes plan allowances, not a change to API pricing or budgets.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Dell 34-Inch S3425DW Curved WQHD USB-C Monitor

FLEXISPOT Standing Desk with Monitor Riser & Cable Management
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Reversal
The decision reverses a change OpenAI had outlined in September. The company paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product leader who posts as Tibo, attributed the move to demand for GPT-6 Astra. On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200, introduced Pro 500 and told affected users that included usage allowances were changing while the monthly price remained $200.
In a post that day, Sottiaux described the plan ladder as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying some existing Pro 200 subscribers would retain a 20X multiplier for a time. The October 29 release note then said the planned Pro 200 reduction was canceled. OpenAI’s current help page supplies the plan-specific explanation: the lower allowance doubled to match the higher one, while existing higher-allowance subscribers keep their level.
Sottiaux later summarized the change on X as doubling limits across Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium. That wording is broader than OpenAI’s help page, which specifies the Work and Codex increase for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and spells out the distinct Pro 200 and chat-limit changes. The plan-level details in the help page provide the clearest account of what changed.
“We heard your kind feedback.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo
Business Limits and Usage Detail
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state by how much. Sottiaux’s post says it doubles, but the official note does not provide that figure. The exact allowance for a Business Premium seat therefore remains unclear from the published plan information.
OpenAI also cautions that realized usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. The company has not supplied a single conversion showing how many additional documents, coding tasks or research jobs the larger allowance will cover. Its October 29 notes do not describe changes to Business Standard, Go or Free, so no increase for those plans is confirmed here.
Check Plan Details and Allowances
Subscribers should see the updated allowance automatically, according to OpenAI, with no renewal wait or account action required. The next practical check is the usage page for each account, particularly for Pro 200 customers seeking to confirm whether they previously had the lower or higher allowance.
Business customers may need to consult their plan information or OpenAI for the exact Premium increase before revising seat assignments. Until OpenAI publishes a specific figure, Sottiaux’s statement and the release note do not offer equally detailed confirmation. Any future changes to other plans or separate chat limits remain unannounced in the October 29 update.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT Pro plans get twice the Work and Codex allowance?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now receive twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. Pro 200 has a separate change: subscribers on the lower allowance now match the higher one, while those already on the higher allowance keep it.
Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT Pro limit?
No. OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly chat limit now matches its higher one. Plus usage is unchanged, and the Work and Codex increase does not mean every ChatGPT cap doubled.
Do current subscribers need to take action?
No action is required, according to OpenAI. Existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.
How much more usage does Business Premium get?
OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but does not specify a multiplier. Sottiaux said the allowance doubles in a post, but the official published note does not provide that number.
Did ChatGPT prices change?
No price change was announced with these allowance updates. OpenAI says plan prices remain unchanged; the adjustments concern usage allowances and selected limits.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
