AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: AI Costs And Rules Are In Focus: What Might Change For Subscribers? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI has added restrictions on how many paid accounts can be associated with one device or payment card and says ChatGPT and Codex will share an allowance from December. Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainable relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of a new limit. The developments point to tighter measurement of AI use, not confirmed cancellation of flat monthly plans.

OpenAI is tightening how paid AI use is allocated, adding limits on subscriptions tied to the same device or payment card and planning a shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance from December. Separately, xAI chief executive Elon Musk said Grok Bot was costly to serve, but did not announce a specific price increase, usage cut or reset. Together, the updates put the terms behind fixed-price AI subscriptions in focus for users and businesses.

OpenAI’s help center says its rules limit how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one card or device. The rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans. The company has not published the numerical thresholds in the material reviewed by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, leaving subscribers without a public count to check against.

OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December, measured in tokens. The source says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that shared meter. It does not provide the allowance size or a breakdown of how different products and models will draw it down.

On November 1, Musk replied to an X user asking about a Grok Bot reset: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The post identified Grok Bot, xAI’s task-performing agent, rather than Grok chat generally. It contained no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not specify what, if anything, had changed for users.

OpenAI also adjusted some higher-tier allowances during the same week. Its release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction to Pro 200 was cancelled. This means the week’s changes were not a uniform cut: some allowances increased even as OpenAI set out a shared meter and account restrictions.

At a glance
updateWhen: Developments reported November 1-2, 202…
The developmentOpenAI announced account restrictions and a shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance, while Elon Musk cited Grok Bot costs without specifying a change to its limits or price.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How Shared Meters Affect Subscribers

For subscribers, a monthly price may no longer tell the whole story of how much work a plan can support. A shared allowance can make activity in one product affect the capacity available in another, while device and card rules may affect people managing several paid accounts. The practical impact depends on thresholds and allowance sizes, which OpenAI has not fully specified in the cited material.

For companies, the changes make usage tracking and procurement terms more relevant. Teams using AI agents or coding tools may need to plan around consumption as well as seat prices. The source notes that OpenAI’s rate card assigns different token costs to different models, with its most capable model using allowance far faster per output token than its cheapest one. That comparison is specific to the listed rate card; it does not establish the cost of any individual subscriber’s work.

For users, Musk’s statement is a signal about provider economics, not evidence of a particular change to Grok Bot access. No new Grok Bot limit or price was confirmed in his reply. Subscribers should distinguish a reported service-cost concern from a published change to plan terms.

Products Worth Considering

Apple Mac mini (2026) with M5 Pro chip and AppleCare+ (3‑year)

Apple Mac mini (2026) with M5 Pro chip and AppleCare+ (3‑year)

Apple MacBook Pro 14 2021 with M1 Max, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, Silver

Apple MacBook Pro 14 2021 with M1 Max, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, Silver

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Unlimited Claims to Usage Pools

The developments follow earlier debates about whether a fixed monthly fee can support heavy use of advanced AI. OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024 with “unlimited access” to its best models, according to the source. The next month, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That post is historical context, not a current statement of OpenAI’s finances.

xAI’s own description of Grok Bot says usage is measured by agent steps and tokens, not simply message counts; the amount consumed varies with the task and the effort involved. Its pricing page, as described by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, includes Grok Bot in Premium, Super and Ultra subscriptions and places it in a shared weekly pool with other services. These details help explain why a task agent may draw usage differently from a short chat, but they do not establish the agent’s operating costs.

OpenAI’s changes also show why “flat price” and “unlimited use” are not interchangeable. A subscription can keep a fixed monthly charge while imposing account rules or usage allowances. The material supports that distinction; it does not establish that all providers are ending flat monthly plans.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying on X on November 1

Limits, Costs and Rollout Details

Several details remain unsettled. OpenAI has not published the number of subscriptions allowed per card or device in the cited help material, nor the size of the shared allowance scheduled for December. It is also unclear how token use will be counted across ChatGPT and Codex, and whether all users on the covered plans will see the same practical effect.

Musk did not say whether Grok Bot’s weekly pool had been reduced, whether a reset would be offered, or whether pricing would change. His use of the past tense does not by itself confirm that a specific cost adjustment already took place. ThorstenMeyerAI.com also said it could not independently locate an xAI account post reportedly discussing adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault; that account should be treated as reported, not verified here.

The available material does not show that OpenAI or xAI has ended fixed monthly subscriptions. It supports a narrower conclusion: providers are describing or applying limits and meters alongside monthly prices. Actual customer impact remains difficult to quantify until vendors publish more detail.

Watch for Published Plan Terms

The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s December rollout of the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance. Subscribers can look for updated help pages and usage displays explaining the allowance, account thresholds and how activity is counted. The source does not give a more precise rollout date.

xAI’s next step is not specified in Musk’s post. Any change to Grok Bot’s pool, plan eligibility or pricing would need to be confirmed through an official product notice or updated plan terms. Until then, the cost statement alone should not be read as a confirmed service change.

For now, users considering an upgrade or additional account can check their plan’s usage information and written terms before paying. Businesses can ask vendors for allowance sizes, overage rules and model-specific rates. Those steps do not predict future costs; they help clarify the limits currently stated by each provider.

Key Questions

Are AI subscription prices going up?

No price increase is confirmed in the cited updates. Musk mentioned Grok Bot serving costs but did not announce a price change, and the OpenAI changes described concern account rules and usage allowances.

What changes is OpenAI making to ChatGPT plans?

OpenAI says it is limiting how many paid accounts can be tied to a device or payment card, and that Plus, Pro and Business plans will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. The cited material does not state the numerical account limits or allowance size.

Did xAI cut Grok Bot usage?

Musk did not confirm a specific cut in his November 1 post. He said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably expensive relative to revenue, without saying whether the usage pool changed or by how much.

Does a fixed monthly AI plan mean unlimited use?

Not necessarily. The reported terms include shared usage pools and account restrictions alongside monthly subscriptions. Users should check the provider’s current plan terms and usage page rather than assume the monthly fee guarantees unlimited capacity.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

Nvidia, CoreWeave, And Nebius: Inside The Circular Financing Of The GPU Boom

Exploring how Nvidia, CoreWeave, and Nebius are using circular financing to fuel the GPU industry surge. Key details and implications explained.

The Memento Constraint: Why Continual Learning Is the Trillion-Dollar Bottleneck Nobody Is Pricing

Exploring how the inability of current AI models to learn continually shapes the enterprise AI economy and why solving this could be a trillion-dollar breakthrough.

The Compute Reckoning: Anthropic Finally Admits What Customers Suspected for Ten Months

Anthropic confirms that its recent customer experience issues were due to compute shortages, after years of speculation, with major capacity deals announced.